top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa Miller

Foster caring for my Hedgehog Penelope for Baddeley Green Hedgehog rescue




💚🦔 I have been a foster carer for hedgehogs for 2 and a half years now. I saw an appeal for foster carers to help ease the pressures on the rescue centre itself. I set up my garage with a double level hutch , weighing scales, food and bedding and I was away!

The rescue provide an enormous amount of support on what to look out for, how to weigh them and are only ever a phone call away.

Today I’ve checked on my foster hedgehog ‘Penelope’ today to see that all is well. She is a good weight and when spring comes around she will be well enough for a safe release.

It is hugely important to help the hedgehog populations. They are now red listed as critically endangered to extinction. They are now functionally extinct in the south east of the Uk due to many contributing factors from humans.

I have created a gardening group in Congleton that are all wildlife friendly where there are hints and tips to improve biodiversity on your own door step.

‘Congleton Plant Swap and gardening for wildlife’ Facebook group, feel free to join, everyone is welcome.

6 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page